Skip to content
Back to Top

Local Boundary Commission


The Local Boundary Commission consists of five members appointed by the Governor. One member is appointed from each of Alaska's four judicial districts. The Chair is appointed at large.

Lamar Cotten, Chair, At Large, Anchorage


Governor Walker appointed Lamar Cotten as the chair of the Local Boundary Commission on January 3, 2018. Mr. Cotten is a consultant providing strategic planning and management services to Alaska communities. Mr. Cotten served as borough manager for Lake and Peninsula Borough from 2008-2013. He was also borough administrator for Aleutians East Borough from 1987-1991, city administrator for the City of Sand Point from 1984-1987, and the city manager for City of King Cove from 1984-1986. Mr. Cotten was rural development manager and deputy commissioner of the Department of Community and Regional Affairs, now a division within the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development from 1995-2002. Mr. Cotten served as the member from the third judicial district on the LBC from 1998-1993. Mr. Cotten has a master’s degree in urban and regional planning from the University of Oregon and a bachelor’s degree in political science from Northern Arizona University, and he is currently a resident of Anchorage. His term as chair on the LBC began on February 1, 2018, and extends through January 31, 2023.

John Harrington, First Judicial District, Ketchikan

John Harrington

Governor Parnell appointed John Harrington of Ketchikan as the member from the First Judicial District on the Local Boundary Commission on September 10, 2009. Governor Parnell reappointed him on April 1, 2011. Mr. Harrington is a real estate manager and previously worked as an adult education coordinator in Ketchikan from 1985-97. He was also a special education teacher and administrator in Washington state from 1972-84. He currently serves on the Ketchikan Gateway Borough Assembly, and also served on the assembly from 2005 through 2011, chairing the borough's Planning Liaison and Economic Development Advisory Committee, among others. His community service includes chairing the North Tongass Fire and EMS Service Area Board from 2002-05, serving on the Ketchikan Charter Commission from 2003-04, and serving as an elected member of the Ketchikan Gateway Borough school board from 1988-94. Commissioner Harrington earned a bachelor's degree in psychology and history from Western Washington University and a master's degree in educational administration from Seattle University. Governor Bill Walker reappointed Commissioner Harrington and his current term on the LBC ends January 31, 2021.

Dr. Robert Harcharek, Second Judicial District, Barrow

Dr. Robert Harcharek

Governor Knowles appointed Robert "Bob" Harcharek as the member from the Second Judicial District on the Local Boundary Commission on July 18, 2002. Governor Murkowski reappointed him to the LBC on March 24, 2004. On March 9, 2009, Governor Palin reappointed him to the LBC. Commissioner Harcharek was again reappointed by Governor Parnell on May 14, 2014. Commissioner Harcharek serves as the commission’s vice chair. In 1977 he earned a Ph.D. in international and development education from the University of Pittsburgh. Commissioner Harcharek served for three years in Thailand as a Peace Corps volunteer. Dr. Harcharek has lived and worked on the North Slope for more than 30 years. Commissioner Harcharek retired from the North Slope Borough as the Community and Capital Improvement Projects (CIP) Planner for the Department of Public Works. He served as a member of the Barrow City Council for fifteen years, and is currently Mayor and Chief Administrative Officer for the City of Barrow. His current LBC term ends January 31, 2019.

Debra Mack, Third Judicial District, Anchorage

Lavell Wilson

Governor Walker appointed Debra Mack of Anchorage as the member from the Third Judicial District to the Local Boundary Commission on March 7, 2017. Ms. Mack is originally from Sand Point, Alaska and studied business at the University of Alaska Fairbanks via distance education. She served as Municipal Clerk for Sand Point from 1979 to 1991 and then served as the Municipal Clerk for the City of Unalaska from 1991 until 2009, when she moved to Anchorage. Ms. Mack also served on the Aleutians East Borough Assembly from 1987 to 1991. She currently serves on the Aleut Corporation Board of Directors, and works part time as a court reporter for Kron Associates. Her term on the LBC ends January 31, 2022.

Lavell Wilson, Fourth Judicial District, Tok

Lavell Wilson

Governor Palin appointed Lavell Wilson, a Tok resident, as the member from the Fourth Judicial District on the Local Boundary Commission, June 4, 2007. Governor Parnell reappointed him on October 6, 2010. Commissioner Wilson is a former member of the Alaska House of Representatives, serving the area outside of the Fairbanks North Star Borough in the Eighth State Legislature. He moved to Alaska in 1949 and has lived in the Northway/Tok area since. Commissioner Wilson attended the University of Alaska Fairbanks and Brigham Young University. Commissioner Wilson worked as a licensed aircraft mechanic, commercial pilot, and flight instructor for 40 Mile Air from 1981-1995, retiring as the company's chief pilot and office manager. Mr. Wilson became a licensed big game guide in 1963. He has also worked as a surveyor, teamster, and construction laborer, retiring from the Operating Engineer's Local 302 in Fairbanks. As a member of Local 302, he worked for 12 years on the U.S. Air Force's White Alice system, the ballistic missile defense site at Clear, and the radar site at Cape Newenham. His current term on the LBC ends January 31, 2020.