Skip to content
Back to Top

Offices Closed to Public

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development offices are closed to the public at this time. We are still open for business and encourage you to contact us via phone or email.

Local Government Resource Desk

Boundary Changes

Municipal Government Structure in Alaska


The State of Alaska's Constitution, Article X, Section 2, provides that two forms of local government, cities and organized boroughs, form the basic structure of Alaska's Municipal Government. Both cities and boroughs are municipal corporations and political subdivisions of the State of Alaska. (AS 29.04.010 -.020)

Alaska's Constitution also requires that the entire state be divided into organized or unorganized boroughs, based on standards such as natural geographic boundaries, economic viability, and common interests. (Article X, Section 3 ) For the most part, organized boroughs were formed in those areas where economies were better developed. The large portion of the state that has not incorporated as an organized borough is designated the unorganized borough.

Narrative Frequently Asked Questions Additional Resources Applicable Laws and Regulations

Revised 10/2/2018