Skip to content
Back to Top

Local Government Resource Desk

Taxation & Assessment

Property Tax Exemptions in Alaska


Alaska has two kinds of property tax exemptions. These are 1) exemptions that are required by law, and 2) optional exemptions that a taxing authority may authorize. All municipalities must grant exemptions that are required or mandated by state law. Optional exemptions will vary depending on whether and what kind of additional exemptions the taxing authority has enacted. A review of the department’s publication, "Alaska Taxable" will show the optional exemptions, but it is a good idea to contact the local assessor's office (see "Directory of Tax Jurisdictions") for an up-to-date listing of those exemptions that may be available in each municipality.

Narrative Frequently Asked Questions Applicable Laws and Regulations

Revised 7/1/13