Skip to content
Back to Top

Serve Alaska Commission History

On September 21, 1993 President Clinton signed the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993 (PL 103-82). This law merged two federal agencies, ACTION and the Commission on National and Community Service, creating the new Corporation for National and Community Service . The Act also established AmeriCorps, a service program for Americans ages seventeen years and older.

The Alaska State Community Service Commission (ASCSC) was created in 1994 by Governor Walter J. Hickel to establish the state’s eligibility to receive AmeriCorps and Learn and Serve America funding. The Commissioners voted in October 2007 to request the Commission be reestablished as Serve Alaska. Governor Sarah Palin issued Administrative Order 245 to rename the Alaska State Community Service Commission to Serve Alaska.

The State Commission is overseen by no fewer than 15 and no more than 25 voting Commission members appointed by the Governor. The composition of a Commission is legally constrained to ensure non-partisanship and political neutrality. The National and Community Service Trust Act and administrative regulations issued in conjunction with it, specify requirements for balance in the Commission.

Based on population and funding availability, the Commission recommends formula and competitive applications to the Corporation for National and Community Service. Applications are selected based on their ability to address unmet community needs in education, public safety, environment or other human needs.

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development houses the Commission and serves as its fiscal agent. The Commission meets on a quarterly basis following the guidelines of the by-laws.