Skip to content
Back to Top

Notice of Office Closure

The Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development offices will be closed to the public on November 23rd and 24th. We will be closed November 23rd in observance of the Thanksgiving holiday and November 24th is an unpaid furlough day for employees to reduce state expenses.

Business Licensing

RENEW A Business License Online

Online renewal is available for existing Business Licenses and for printing immediately upon confirmation. Read the information below before proceeding. If you are attempting to purchase a NEW business license please go to Purchase a NEW Business License Online. Once a business license or tobacco endorsement is issued the fees are non-refundable.

Before you begin to RENEW an existing business license:

What is the exact name on your existing business license you want to renew?

  • You must operate and advertise in the exact business name on your business license. Per 12 AAC 12.050 you cannot change the name of the business or the ownership of a business license when renewing a license. A new business license is required if you want to make any of these changes.
  • NOTE: A business license does not give you exclusive rights to your business name. For more information about exclusive rights please go to Reserve or Register a Business Name.

Do you have multiple business licenses with the same owner?

  • NEW – effective 10/29/2014 - business license statutes allow for multiple (different) lines of business on one (1) business license. Thus one business license may cover multiple lines of business activity, as long as all business advertising and operating occur under the same business name and same business owner. For more information about how you may reduce existing multiple business licenses with the same owner please go to Multiple Lines of Business FAQs.

What are your primary and secondary NAICS codes on your renewing business license?

  • Effective 10/29/2014 a business license may have multiple lines of business. If any of your business activities requires a professional license then you must list those activities as your Primary and/or Secondary NAICS code. For more information regarding NAICS codes please go to the Line of Business/Alaska NAICS Code.
  • For more information about professional licenses please go to Professional Licensing Section.

Do you want to renew your business license for one year or two years?

  • Business license fees are non-refundable once the business license has been issued. All business licenses expire on December 31st regardless of the date of purchase. The expiring year depends on your choice of an annual (1 year) or biennial (2 year) license. Online filing payment may be made by MasterCard or Visa. If you need to pay by check or money order please file by hardcopy.
    • Regular Business License Fee: $50 per year and may be purchased for 1 or 2 years.
    • Senior Discount Fee: To qualify for this discounted business license fee of $25.00 per year you must be applying for a Sole Proprietor only and you are 65 years or older or will turn 65 during the licensing period to which you are applying and you are willing to provide your date of birth.
    • NEW – effective 10/29/2014 - Disabled Veteran Discount: To qualify for this discounted business license fee of $25.00 per year you must be applying for a Sole Proprietor and you must provide a copy of your service connected disability determination letter from Veteran Affairs. To initially receive this discount you must apply by hardcopy, do not apply online.

  • Note: per AS 43.70.030(a) only one qualified discount fee (senior -OR- disabled veteran discount) may be applied to a business license fee.
  • If your Business license has been lapsed (expired) less than two years the fees for any lapsed years must be paid. For more information go to Business Licensing FAQs, question #9: What if my business license has expired?

Do you have any Tobacco Endorsements on your renewing business license?

  • You may renew your existing business license and existing tobacco endorsements online.
  • If you want to add a new tobacco endorsement location to an existing business license, then you must apply by hardcopy by submitting form 08-4730. Online filing is not available at this time for new tobacco endorsement applications.
  • Tobacco Endorsements expire on the same date as the business license to which they are attached.
  • For more information please go to Tobacco Endorsement FAQs.
  • TIP: the tobacco endorsement fee is a flat rate $100 per location, whether you are renewing the business license for one or two years. For a better bargain, renew your business license with tobacco endorsement(s) for two years.

For additional business licensing information and resources please go to Business Licensing.

You may not use the online business licensing renewal services if:

  • You are attempting to initially qualify for the disabled veteran discount on an existing business license, then you must file by hardcopy; initial qualification is not available online at this time.
  • Your business license is expired more than 9 months.
    • NOTE: a business license expired less than two years may renew. For more information, please go to Business Licensing FAQs.

  • You do not have a Visa or MasterCard credit or debit card.
  • Have you already submitted a hardcopy business license renewal application and payment for the same business? Please do not duplicate the application process and payment by filing online.

If any of the above conditions apply, please print the Renew an Alaska Business application and mail it to the division at the address on the application. Hardcopy applications are processed in date order received by the Business License Section. Standard hardcopy processing time from March–September is 10–15 business days. During heavy business license filing season (October–February), the processing will be delayed.

IMPORTANT! Before you RENEW a business license online:

  • Check and re-check your spelling before proceeding to payment.
    NOTE: Some special characters or symbols may not be accepted.
  • Once a business license or tobacco endorsement is issued the fees are non-refundable.

General online filing information:

  • Be prepared with all the necessary information before you begin online filing so you may move through in a smooth and timely manner.
  • You will be able to print your Business License certificate immediately after filing. Alternatively, you may choose to receive your certificate by mail (mailed within 2 - 3 business days).
  • Please print the confirmation page at the end of the process for your records; it contains important information regarding your Business License purchase.
  • For this program to work properly your computer must have JavaScript and Cookies enabled in your browser.
  • Using the BACK or FORWARD buttons will cause you to lose your information and you will need to start at the beginning of the program.

If you want to purchase a NEW business license please go to Purchase a NEW Business License Online.
Once a business license or tobacco endorsement is issued the fees are non-refundable.

We Accept  

Business Licensing Payment & Refund Policy


Email Business Licensing       Contact Phone: (907) 465-2550