Skip to content
Back to Top

Offices Closed to Public

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development offices are closed to the public at this time. We are still open for business and encourage you to contact us via phone or email.

Acupuncturists

COVID-19 MANDATES AND GUIDANCE:

The governor has issued a mandate or the board has issued guidance for this program.

Please click here to read how this may affect you.

The Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing staffs the acupuncture program. The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development adopts regulations to carry out laws governing the practice of acupuncture in Alaska. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary actions against people who violate licensing laws.

Acupuncturists who practice independently must obtain an Alaska Business License .

Electronic Requests for License Verification

NOTE: This feature is for individuals who have registered with MY LICENSE and wish to pay the filing fee online with a credit card payment .

If you are not registered with MY LICENSE and would like information on how to register, please contact Acupuncturists@Alaska.Gov.

  1. Submit Your Request
    • Send your Request for License Verification to: Acupuncturists@Alaska.Gov
    • Put the program along with your first and last name in the subject line.
    • The following information must be provided in the body of your email:
      • NAME: The name used when your professional license was last issued or renewed.
      • LICENSE NUMBER: Your professional license number.
      • SEND TO: Provide both the Board and/or Agency name along with a complete mailing address.
  2. Payment of Fees
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page.
    • A “Make a Payment” link will be available within your license details page under “Actions”.
    • A $20 filing fee is required for each verification of license.
  3. Completed Request
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page when the request is completed.
    • Please allow up to 10 business days for processing after submitting your payment.

If you prefer to submit a check or money order, you may mail in the Request License Verification form.

Initial Applications

INITIAL Acupuncture License Application
#08-4110, Revised 11/06/19.
Must have passed the NCCAOM examination and have either graduated from an accredited U.S. school of acupuncture, or hold a license in another jurisdiction.

Renewal Applications

Important notice regarding your 2020-2022 Renewal:

There has recently been an update to the acupuncture regulations regarding continuing education that may affect your upcoming renewal on September 30, 2020. Please view the NCCAOM Recertification Information that outlines requirements for certification as a diplomate in acupuncture and/or Professional Development Activity (PDA) points earned solely in core competency activities.

Please contact the division if you need a renewal form for the 2018-2020 licensing period.

Miscellaneous Forms

Division forms may be found in the CBPL Quick links, located in the sidebar to the right.

Statutes and Regulations

Alaska Statutes are passed by the legislature. Regulations (also called the Alaska Administrative Code) are rules adopted by the department to implement, interpret, and make specific the statutes. Both statutes and regulations have the force of law.

AS 08.06 and regulations 12 AAC 05 specifically apply to acupuncturists. AS 08.01 - 08.03 and regulations 12 AAC 02 apply to all professions regulated by the division.

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to:

Regulations Specialist
Email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806

National Organizations

National organizations may provide information on the regulation of the practice of acupuncture in other states.

Approved Schools of Acupuncture

Contact Information

Thomas Bay, Licensing Examiner
Telephone: (907) 465-2588
Email: Acupuncturists@Alaska.Gov
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806