Skip to content
Back to Top

Board of Examiners in Optometry

Changes to Optometry Statutes

On July 26, legislation was enacted that will change the Board of Optometry Statutes. Section 2 of the bill has a retroactive effective date of July 17, 2017, while the rest of the bill is effective on October 24, 2017. You can read the text of the bill here.

What does this legislation do?

  1. The legislation gives the board authority to adopt regulations for:
    • The prescription and use of pharmaceutical agents for the treatment of eye disease
    • Develop uniform standards for the practice of optometry
    • Establish continuing education requirements for license renewal for the use and prescription of pharmaceutical agents and injection of non-topical therapeutic pharmaceutical agents
  2. Gives the board authority to publish advisory opinions regarding whether optometry practice procedures or policies comply with acceptable standards of practice of optometry
  3. Allows the board to adopt regulations defining services of optometry if the services are within the scope of the licensee’s education, training, and experience, including ophthalmic surgery
  4. Defines ophthalmic surgery
  5. Redefines "optometry"

Alaska's Prescription Drug Monitoring Program

IMPORTANT PDMP FEE NOTICE

The division reviewed all public comments relating to the proposed fees for the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP). Originally proposed at $50.00 for initial registration and renewal, the fee amounts have since been reassessed and reduced. Effective April 22, 2018 and required by 12 AAC 02.107, a $25.00 initial and $25.00 renewal registration fee will be required by all pharmacists who dispense and practitioners who prescribes, administers, or directly dispenses a schedule II – IV controlled substance before initial or continued access to the database is granted. Submission of PDMP registration fees will be integrated into the license renewal process; no PDMP fees are due from existing users prior to April 22, 2018. Please click HERE for PDMP fee FAQs and click HERE to review the regulation filing notification.

  • Initial Payment Form
    #08-4760
  • Renewal Payment Form
    #08-4761
    (Only submit at license renewal time. Click here for license expiration dates.)

Proposed Regulations FAQs: Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) Controlled Substance Prescription Database Registration Fees

PDMP Registration Requirements for Prescribers and Pharmacists

Comprehensive Guide to PDMP Requirements and Effective Dates

PDMP Web Page:     Register   |   Sign In   |   Submit Data   |   Find Information

Joint Committee on Prescriptive Guidelines Report to Alaska State Legislature

Learn more about reducing addiction at:  Opioids.Alaska.Gov


Alaska Prescription Drug monitoring Program

Alaska Prescription Drug monitoring Program


As part of evaluating the functionality and usefulness of the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP), please participate in this awareness and feedback questionnaire. The estimated participation time is 15 to 20 minutes and the results will remain anonymous.

Click HERE to access the survey.


Important Notice Regarding Telemedicine:

Following SB74, businesses engaged in the practice of telemedicine are required to register for placement on the Telemedicine Business Registry (TBR) through the Professional Licensing Section. Please click HERE to access the application and additional information regarding the registry. Please note that the application is for businesses rather than individual licensees to register; if you have any questions regarding scope of practice requirements or limitations regarding telemedicine, please contact the Board or program’s Occupational Licensing Examiner.


The Board of Examiners in Optometry is staffed by the Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing. The Board consists of four optometrists and one public member. Board members are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Legislature.

The board adopts regulations to carry out laws governing the practice of optometry in Alaska. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary actions against people who violate licensing laws. The Board meets once a year and offers a public comment period at each meeting. Meeting agendas and minutes are available from the licensing examiner and will be posted to this website once prepared.

The licensing process may take up to six weeks after all information is received.


Contact Information:

Patricia Lonergan, Licensing Examiner
Phone: (907) 465-1037
Fax: (907) 465-2974
Email: patricia.lonergan@alaska.gov
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806