Skip to content
Back to Top

State Medical Board

The State Medical Board is staffed by the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. The board consists of five physicians, one physician assistant, and two public members. Board members are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Legislature.

The Board adopts regulations to carry out the laws governing the practice of medicine in Alaska. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary action against people who violate the licensing laws. The board meets four times a year and offers a public comment period at each meeting. Meeting agendas and minutes are available from the executive administrator.

Professions Regulated by the Board

  • Osteopath
  • Paramedic
  • Physician
  • Physician Assistant
  • Podiatrist

Electronic Requests for License Verification

NOTE: This feature is for individuals who have registered with MY LICENSE and wish to pay the filing fee online with a credit card payment .

If you are not registered with MY LICENSE and would like information on how to register, please contact MedicalBoard@alaska.gov

  1. Submit Your Request
    • Send your Request for License Verification to: MedicalBoard@alaska.gov
    • Put the program along with your first and last name in the subject line.
    • The following information must be provided in the body of your email:
      • NAME: The name used when your professional license was last issued or renewed.
      • LICENSE NUMBER: Your professional license number.
      • SEND TO: Provide both the Board and/or Agency name along with a complete mailing address.
  2. Payment of Fees
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page.
    • A “Make a Payment” link will be available within your license details page under “Actions”.
    • A $20 filing fee is required for each verification of license.
  3. Completed Request
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page when the request is completed.
    • Please allow up to 10 business days for processing after submitting your payment.

If you prefer to submit a check or money order, you may mail in the Request License Verification form.

Public Notice:

Notice of Adopted Changes to the Regulations of the State Medical Board

On August 8, 2019, the State Medical Board adopted regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 40 of the Alaska Administrative Code. The regulations concern surgical residency training requirements for podiatrists; implement ch. 45, SLA 2018, which added new statutes to allow delegation of routine medical duties to an agent of the physician, podiatrist, osteopath, or physician assistant; AS 08.64.106 requires the board to adopt regulations authorizing this delegation; implement changes to allow the board’s executive secretary to grant a license under direction of board regulatory limits; and other amendments update regulations on board meetings, code of ethics, and standards for the delegation of routine medical duties.

The regulation changes were reviewed and approved by the Department of Law, signed and filed by the Lieutenant Governor on November 25, 2019, and will go into effect on December 25, 2019. Please click HERE to see the filed version of the regulations.

The new regulation changes will be printed in Register 232, January 2020 of the Alaska Administrative Code.

Opioid Education Requirement

New applicants and existing licensees with a DEA registration must earn a minimum of 2 hours of education in pain management and opioid use and addiction.

A two hour education course (equivalent to a continuing medical education course) is required to qualify for a new license for a physician, podiatrist, physician assistant, or mobile intensive care paramedic. Courses must be Category 1 of AMA-approved education, or category 1 or 2 or AOA-approved education. For a podiatrist, it may instead be earned in a CPME-approved continuing medical education program. For a physician assistant, it may instead be earned in a NCCPA-approved continuing medical education program).

Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP)

All Alaska-licensed practitioners with a DEA registration must register with the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) and must use the PDMP to review a patient’s prescription history each time before prescribing a federally scheduled II or III controlled substance. See the FAQs for links and detailed information about PDMP registration, and fees and other requirements.

Proposed Regulations FAQs: Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) Controlled Substance Prescription Database Registration Fees

PDMP Registration Requirements for Prescribers and Pharmacists

Comprehensive Guide to PDMP Requirements and Effective Dates

PDMP Web Page: Register | Sign In | Submit Data | Find Information

Joint Committee on Prescriptive Guidelines Report to Alaska State Legislature

Learn more about reducing addiction at:  Opioids.Alaska.Gov

Applying for a license?

  • Initial applications are currently screened within 25 days of receipt in our office.
  • Applicants will receive monthly email updates listing any expected documentation that has not been received.
  • Renewal of licensure is available online during the open renewal period. If your license has lapsed, you may download a paper application from this site.
  • The Alaska State Medical Board accepts documents provided by the Federation of State Medical Boards credentials verification service, which may speed the application processing time. Please visit the FCVS website for more information.

Statutes and Regulations

Alaska Statutes are passed by the Legislature. Regulations (also called the Alaska Administrative Code) are rules adopted by the board to implement, interpret, and make specific the statutes. Both statutes and regulations have the force of law.

AS 08.64 and regulations 12 AAC 40 specifically govern the practice of medicine. AS 08.01 - 08.03 and regulations 12 AAC 02 apply to all professions regulated by the division.

Proposed regulations are advertised in Alaska newspapers and we invite public comment on them. If you would like to receive notice of proposed regulations, please write to the regulations specialist and request that your name be added to the Medical interested parties list. Please advise us if you move or wish your name removed from the mailing list.

Contact Information

  • Direct all licensing communications to:
    Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
    PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99801-0806
    Phone: (907) 465-2781
    Fax: (907) 465-2974
    E-mail: medicalboard@alaska.gov
  • Direct all board communications to:
    State Medical Board
    P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
    Phone: (907) 269-8163
    E-mail: medicalboard@alaska.gov
  • Direct all investigative communications to:
    Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
    Investigations Unit
    550 West 7th Ave., Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501
    Phone: (907) 269-8437
    E-mail: investigations@alaska.gov