The Board of Massage Therapists was enacted by the Alaska State Legislature (HB328) in 2014 and went into effect on November 9, 2014. The Board is currently in the process of adopting regulations to carry out laws governing the practice of massage therapy in Alaska.
Effective July 1, 2015 licensure is required for all practitioners of massage therapy in the State of Alaska. A transitional period which waives the exam and education requirements for massage therapists who meet certain requirements is available from July 1, 2015 to July 2017. Effective July 1, 2017 all practitioners must meet exam and education requirements.
On April 6, 2016, an email was sent out to all massage therapy applicants with incomplete applications on record. This email served to notify applicants that effective June 30, 2016, the Board of Massage Therapists will begin pursuing enforcement of licensure requirements as outlined in AS 08.61. The law requires that all practicing massage therapists in the State must have a license to do so.
If you received this email, please respond to it and request that staff provide you with directions to complete your application. If you are practicing after June 30, 2016 without an active license, the Board can impose disciplinary action on you. For general questions, please contact 907-465-2550.
Code of Ethics:
Alaska Board of Massage Therapists Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice
Credit Card Payments are accepted by Mail or Fax. Click here for the credit card fee payment form.
All professionals practicing in the State of Alaska as of July 1, 2015 are required to have a massage therapy license in order to practice.
Please visit the applications and forms section of our website. Applicants that have been practicing massage therapy between the years of 2010 and 2015 can apply for licensure under the "PRACTICING" application and are not required to take exams and provide transcripts. Applicants that do not qualify to apply under that application must apply by "Credentials" (if licensed in another jurisdiction) or by "Examination" on the "NEW" application. The application includes detailed instructions. Please carefully read them to prevent delays.
The standard processing time of documents received is 10-15 business days (2-3 weeks), though this timeframe depends on the workload of the examiner. Typically, applications take a total of one to two (1-2) months from start to finish (license issued/denied). During renewals, expect additional time needed for processing.
A letter will be provided with your license explaining in detail what is required of you. A license must be renewed before it expires. All current licenses must be renewed by September 30, 2017. Continuing education is a requirement of renewal (12 AAC 79.210). You are required to update this office with any address changes experienced.
The division will send written notification to you at least 30 days in advance of the renewal deadline. It is your responsibility to provide all requested/necessary information and fees in order to renew your license. Please be advised: fingerprinting is a requirement of license renewal. These typically take several months to process; it is advised to submit fingerprint cards well in advance of the deadline, along with the $60.00 processing fee.
(12 AAAC 79.210) Applicants licensed between 2015 and 2017 are required to obtain at least 6 continuing education credits. All of these may be met through Internet-based, approved courses.
Approved courses are:
You may subscribe to the MAS Board electronic mailing list. You will receive agendas, minutes and other Board-related materials. You may cancel your subscription at any time.
Examiner: Dawn Hannasch
Phone: (907) 465-2525
Fax: (907) 465-2974
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806