Skip to content
Back to Top

Offices Closed to Public

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development offices are closed to the public at this time. We are still open for business and encourage you to contact us via phone or email.

Alaska Board of Nursing

Due to multiple recent vacancies on staff and increased COVID-related workloads, we are currently unable to return calls and emails within our normal processing times. Our primary focus is on reviewing and issuing licenses at the moment. If you have applied for licensure, please check the online portal ( MY LICENSE) for real-time updates on the progress of your application. Answers to most other questions can be located using the links on the right hand side of the page. Thank you for your patience while we attend to these priorities, and we will respond as soon as possible.

APRN Reinstatement:

APRN license renewals ended on February 28, 2021. If you did not renew, you are now required to reinstate your APRN license. If you submit your application on or before April 29, 2021 there is no late renewal penalty fee. Applications submitted on or after April 30, 2021 are subject to an additional $100.00 late renewal penalty fee. If your license lapsed on February 28, 2021 the consultation and referral plan and reference form are not required until December 1, 2021.

Note the following requirements:

  • If you hold a current DEA registration in any jurisdiction - Two hours of education in pain management and opioid use and addiction within the past two years from the date of your application.
  • Current national certification sent directly from certifying body to our division
  • Employment verification on a form provided by the department from a past employer confirming you have been employed as an APRN for at least 320 hours within the last two years prior to application. This will need to be sent directly from your employer to our division (from employer’s official work email, faxed with a coversheet or mailed from employer’s work address).
    -If you have not worked as an APRN for over two years please see regulation 12 AAC 44.475(c-e)

APRN Initial Application
#08-4028, Revised 06/16/2020

RN Reinstatement:

RN license renewals ended on February 28, 2021. If you did not renew, you are now required to reinstate your RN license. If you submit your reinstatement application on or before April 29, 2021 there is no late renewal penalty fee. Reinstatement applications submitted on or after April 30, 2021 are subject to an additional $100.00 late renewal penalty fee. If your license lapsed on February 28, 2021 the fingerprint card and fingerprinting fee are not required until December 1, 2021.

Application for Reinstatement of Nursing License
#08-4067, Revised 04/03/19

LPN Reinstatement:

LPN license renewals ended on September 30, 2020. If you did not renew, you are now required to reinstate your LPN license. If you submit your reinstatement application on or before November 30, 2020 there is no late fee penalty. Reinstatement applications submitted on or after December 1, 2020 are subject to an additional $100.00 late fee. Finger print card and fingerprinting fee are not required until your license has been lapsed for over a year (October 1, 2021).

Application for Reinstatement of Nursing License
#08-4067, Revised 04/03/19

WARNING: Callers Posing as Law Enforcement

The State of Alaska DCCED Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing is warning the public and professional licensees about criminals posing as Professional Board investigators or other law enforcement personnel as part as an scheme to defraud professional licensees. The licensees targeted in this scheme are those who hold a healthcare license and a DEA registration.

The criminals will call the victims (who in most cases are professional licensees in the State of Alaska), and advise them that their professional license is suspended because they are suspected of drug trafficking on the Texas-Mexico Border or some other location. They will further inform the licensee’s that they are the main suspect of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) drug trafficking investigation. The licensee’s professional license number and DEA registration number will be verified by the criminal asking the victim a series of questions. Impersonators will generally threaten the victim with arrest and to serve time in jail if they do not cooperate with the “investigation” and agree to pay a fine or bond.

The State of Alaska DCCED/CBPL Investigations unit will never call a member of the public or a licensee demanding money. Anyone receiving a telephone call from a person purporting to be a State of Alaska Professional Licensing Board Investigator or other law enforcement official seeking money should refuse the demand and report the contact to the FBI, DEA, their local law enforcement agency or contact the Division Investigations Unit at 907-269-8124 or email investigations@alaska.gov.

Alaska Board of Nursing Mission:

The mission of the Alaska Board of Nursing is to actively promote and protect the health of the citizens of Alaska through the safe and effective practice of nursing as defined by law.

The Board adopts regulations to carry out the laws governing the practice of Nursing and the work of Nurse Aides in Alaska. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary action against people who violate the licensing laws.

The Board meets four times a year and offers a public comment period at each meeting.

We encourage you to review and use the various options presented on this website.

Board of Nursing Discipline Database:

The Board of Nursing Disciplinary Actions are now available to view online!

Board of Nursing Advisory Opinions:

The Board of Nursing Advisory Opinions are now available to view online!

Board of Nursing Listserv:

Subscribe to the Alaska Board of Nursing electronic mailing list and receive:

  • meeting agendas
  • meeting minutes
  • position statements
  • notice of regulation changes

Subscribe to the Listserv