Skip to content
Back to Top

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development offices in the Atwood Building and the Juneau State Office Building are closed to walk-in traffic at this time. We are still open for business and encourage you to contact us via phone or email.

Board of Marine Pilots

Exam Notice:

The April 8, 2020 marine pilot examinations have been postponed. A new date will be posted as soon as possible.

Public Notice:

Proposed Regulations Changes

The Board of Marine Pilots proposes to update various regulations relating to increase in gross tons endorsement requirements, training experience in an apprenticeship program, and clarifying the definition of “experience”.

Written comments deadline: 4:30 p.m. on April 27, 2020.

The Board of Marine Pilots is staffed by the Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing. A representative for the Commissioner of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development also serves on the Board. Board members, except the Commissioner's representative, are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature.

The Board adopts regulations to carry out its mission to provide efficient and competent pilotage service for the protection of shipping, the safety of human life and property, and the protection of the marine environment. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary action against people who violate the licensing laws. The Board meets three times a year and offers a public comment period at each meeting. Meeting agendas are available from the Marine Pilot Coordinator.

Licensees must also obtain an Alaska Business License

Regulated Professions

  • Deputy Marine Pilot
  • Marine Pilot
  • Vessel Agent

Electronic Requests for License Verification

NOTE: This feature is for individuals who have registered with MY LICENSE and wish to pay the filing fee online with a credit card payment .

If you are not registered with MY LICENSE and would like information on how to register, please contact boardofmarinepilots@alaska.gov

  1. Submit Your Request
    • Send your Request for License Verification to: boardofmarinepilots@alaska.gov
    • Put the program along with your first and last name in the subject line.
    • The following information must be provided in the body of your email:
      • NAME: The name used when your professional license was last issued or renewed.
      • LICENSE NUMBER: Your professional license number.
      • SEND TO: Provide both the Board and/or Agency name along with a complete mailing address.
  2. Payment of Fees
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page.
    • A “Make a Payment” link will be available within your license details page under “Actions”.
    • A $20 filing fee is required for each verification of license.
  3. Completed Request
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page when the request is completed.
    • Please allow up to 10 business days for processing after submitting your payment.

If you prefer to submit a check or money order, you may mail in the Request License Verification form.

Recommended Reading: 10 steps to becoming a State of Alaska Licensed Marine Pilot.

Sealife Awareness

Board of Marine Pilots Listserv

Subscribe to the Alaska Board of Marine Pilots electronic mailing list and receive:

  • Meeting Notifications
  • Board Meeting Agendas
  • Notice of Proposed Changes to Regulations

You may cancel your subscription at any time. You are subscribing to a group email for informal communications from the Board of Marine Pilots:

Contact Information

Renee Hoffard, Marine Pilot Coordinator
Email: BoardOfMarinePilots@Alaska.Gov
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: (907) 465-2525