Skip to content
Back to Top

Board of Marine Pilots

Board Members

The Board of Marine Pilots consists of seven members: Six appointed by the Governor - two licensed pilots actively engaged in piloting vessels (subject to statute), two agents or managers of vessels, and two public members; plus the Commissioner of the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development or his/her designee; not more than one pilot and one agent shall be from any one judicial district and all must be Alaska residents. With the exception of the Commissioner's designee, who serves on the Board indefinitely, members are appointed for staggered terms of four years. Members serve until they are replaced or resign.

View Board Roster

For information about becoming a board member, visit the Governor’s Boards and Commissions web page.