Skip to content
Back to Top

Applications and Forms

Emergency Courtesy License

Due to the COVID-19 emergency declared by the governor, the State Nursing Board has adopted regulations to allow for an Emergency Courtesy License.

RN LPN APRN
Nursys
e-Notify

Nursing License Notifications from e-Notify

Nursing License Holders

Take advantage of a quick, convenient and free way to keep up-to-date with your nursing licenses. You can receive licensure status updates, track license verifications for endorsement and manage multiple license expiration reminders. Keeping on top of your license can help you prevent any fraudulent licenses or certificates being issued in your name.

Register and complete your information using the link below. You must enter this survey as a nurse. Do not enter the survey as an institution. Every two years when you renew your license, you can review and update your information as needed here .

Institutions and Employers

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing offers a service that will notify you by email about license status changes (e.g., expirations) and disciplinary actions against RNs and LPNs that you employ. The information comes from NURSYS, a national database which receives its data from participating boards of nursing nationwide, including the Alaska Board of Nursing. For more information click here.

Reinstatement

Licenses that have lapsed may be reinstated by completing the application for reinstatement, paying the license and penalty fee, submitting verification of licensure in each jurisdiction where the applicant held a license to practice nursing during the time the license was lapsed and providing proof of fulfillment of continuing competency requirements. If your license has been lapsed more than 1 year you must have a State of Alaska and FBI background check by submitting a completed fingerprint card (FD-258).

If the applicant has not worked in the preceding five years, the applicant must submit proof of completion of a course of study (refresher course) approved by the board (12 AAC 44.317 (b)(5)).

A license that has lapsed more than five years will be reinstated by meeting the requirements listed above and AS 08.68.251(b). (See 12 AAC 44.317 and AS 08.68.251(b)).

Before a license can be reinstated, registered and practical nurse licensees must complete two of the following methods for maintaining continuing competency (Article 6 of 12 AAC) and submit the documentation with their reinstatement application.

  • (a) 30 contact hours of continuing education prescribed under 12 AAC 44.610
  • (b) 60 hours of participation in professional activities prescribed under 12 AAC 44.620
  • (c) 320 hours of employment prescribed under 12 AAC 44.630

Application for Reinstatement of Nursing License
#08-4067, Revised 04/03/2019

Miscellaneous

FAQs

Education

Examinations

Fingerprint Information

Alternate Continuing Competency Forms