Skip to content
Back to Top

Alaska Board of Nursing

Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) Information

NLC Licensure Compact Infographic

What is the Nurse Licensure Compact?

The Nurse Licensure Compact is a modern licensure solution for the 21st century. The Nurse Licensure Compact allows for nurses to have one multistate license with the ability to practice in all compact states. As leaders in public protection, State Boards of Nursing developed and adopted the Nurse Licensure Compact in 2015. Currently 38 states have enacted the NLC.
Click to view the NLC Map

Governor Dunleavy has introduced legislation – SB 67: NURSING: LICENSURE; MULTISTATE COMPACT and HB 83: NURSING: LICENSURE; MULTISTATE COMPACT – that will allow Alaska to adopt the NLC. These two bills are identical. Information on how to support these bills is included below.

How Does the NLC Benefit Alaska? Which Organizations Support Alaska Joining the NLC? Do Nurses Support Alaska Joining the NLC? How Can I Help Alaska Join the NLC? More Information on the NLC: