Skip to content
Back to Top

Offices Closed to Public

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development offices are closed to the public at this time. We are still open for business and encourage you to contact us via phone or email.

Board of Professional Counselors

Due to multiple recent vacancies on staff and increased COVID-related workloads, we are currently unable to return calls and emails within our normal processing times. Our primary focus is on reviewing and issuing licenses at the moment. If you have applied for licensure, please check the online portal ( MY LICENSE) for real-time updates on the progress of your application. Answers to most other questions can be located using the links on the right hand side of the page. Thank you for your patience while we attend to these priorities, and we will respond as soon as possible.

Public Notice

Notice of Proposed Regulations

The Division proposes to update regulations relating to general occupational licensing functions or centralized licensing regulations including repealing or removing outdated regulations and citations, payment plan agreement for initial license fees, temporary license application requirements for military families, continuing education verification requirements, staleness date period for documents, adding application and temporary license fees, etc.

Written comments deadline: 4:30 p.m. on February 4, 2021

Emergency Courtesy License:

Due to the COVID-19 emergency declared by the governor, the State Board of Professional Counselors has adopted regulations to allow for an Emergency Courtesy License.

Continuing Education Notice:

The Board of Professional Counselors reminds licensees 40 hours of continuing education are required per licensing period. In-Person Continuing Education may be obtained via live-electronic interactive courses per 12 AAC 62.310 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS – (d) & (g) - (d) A minimum of 20 hours of the total number of continuing education contact hours required for renewal of a license under this section must be earned through attendance and completion of synchronous courses, seminars, and workshops. (g) In this section, "synchronous" means happening precisely at the same time during which the instructor and attendee are able to communicate in real time. The Board will continue to monitor continuing education and provide updates as appropriate.

COVID-19 Position Statements:

The Board of Professional Counselors has released the following position statements:


COVID-19 MANDATES AND GUIDANCE:

The governor has issued a mandate or the board has issued guidance for this program.

Please click here to read how this may affect you.

The Board of Professional Counselors is staffed by the Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing. The board consists of four professional counselors and one public member. Board members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature.

The Board adopts regulations to carry out laws governing the practice professional counseling in Alaska. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary actions against people who violate licensing laws. The board offers a public comment period at each meeting. Meeting agendas are available from the licensing examiner.

Contact Information

Phone: (907) 465-8444
Fax: (907) 465-2974
Email: ProfessionalCounselors@Alaska.Gov
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806