Skip to content
Back to Top

Nurse Aide Registry

Attention: The division is recruiting for multiple positions across the state to fill vacancies in important roles. Most positions are telework-capable and could work outside our home office locations. Click here to review job descriptions and apply. Check back often as new recruitments are added.

Hard Copy License Certificates Discontinued

The division has expanded our online services to allow licensees to download their own license certificates on demand. As a result, the division no longer mails hardcopy license certificates. The certificates will be located under the “initial application” and “renewal” events in the MY LICENSE account.

If you need guidance on how to set up or access your MY LICENSE account, you can access the MY LICENSE instructions here.

Public Notice:

Notice of Proposed Regulations

The Board of Nursing proposes to update various regulations relating to initial licensure or certification requirements for nurses and nurse aides, reinstatement of a lapsed license, nurse aide competency evaluation, APRN licensure and renewal, and establishing alternative to discipline program for nurses and nurse aides that are experiencing a substance use disorder.

Written comments deadline: 4:30 p.m. on January 23, 2023

Customer Contact Form

Do you have questions about your professional license? Please fill out our Customer Contact Form for the fastest response.


CNA renewal ended March 31, 2022, however, if you completed 24 Continuing Education Units (CEUs) AND worked at least 160 hours performing CNA duties for monetary compensation between 4/1/2020 and 3/31/2022 you are still eligible to complete your renewal application. You can complete the online or paper form below.


If you worked at least 160 hours performing CNA duties for monetary compensation between 4/1/2020 and 3/31/2022 but did not complete 24 CEUs during that timeframe you are eligible for reinstatement for two years, by completing your CEUs.

If you did not work as a CNA during the renewal period (4/1/2020 and 3/31/2022) you will need to retake the CNA competency evaluation. For additional information on the competency evaluation please email BoardOfNursing@Alaska.Gov

CNA Renewal FAQs

For additional information regarding the 2022 renewal, please review the FAQ’s below:

*Please do not apply for an Emergency Courtesy Certification in place of completing your CNA renewal application.

Certification of nurse aides and maintenance of the nurse aide abuse registry are responsibilities of the Board of Nursing. The Board also makes final certification decisions and takes disciplinary action against nurse aides who violate the law. The Nurse Aide Registry Program is staffed by the Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing.

Alaska statutes prohibit unlicensed practice. Specifically, AS 08.68.360 states that the practice of professional or practical nursing for compensation by a person who is not licensed, or whose license is suspended, or revoked, or expired, is declared to be inimical to the public welfare and to constitute a public nuisance.

Certification Information

Applications for Certification

Applications may be held in pending status for up to a year (after a year, a new form, fingerprint card and fees may be required). Applications inactive for more than a year are considered abandoned.

Renewal Application

Fingerprint Information

Training Program

Nurse Aide Abuse Registry

Contact Information

Michelle Griffin, Licensing Examiner
550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1500
Anchorage, AK 99501-3567